Faculty, Staff & Practitioners | The William D. Ruckelshaus Center | Washington State University Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Faculty, Staff & Practitioners

The Center maintains a small staff to ensure efficient stewardship of resources while providing quick response to requests for assistance. The Center accesses the expertise of faculty, staff and students at both Universities. These university assets can be augmented by outside practitioners. This means the Center is able to call upon renowned subject matter experts in tailoring a specific response to each project. The Center also provides graduate internship opportunities to help build the next generation of leaders.

Core Faculty and Staff

Michael Kern Square HeadshotMichael Kern, MPA (Seattle)
Director
206-428-3021 (Seattle)
509-335-2937 (Pullman)
m.kern@wsu.edu
Rajcich Square HeadshotCheryl Rajcich, MA (Pullman)
Associate Director, WSU Extension CED Program
509-335-2937
cherylr@wsu.edu
Maria Anguiano (Seattle)
Operations Manager
206-219-2426
m.anguiano@wsu.edu
Terri Gu (Seattle)
Development Intern
206-219-2418
terri.gu@wsu.edu
Harris Square HeadshotKevin Harris, MPA, MBA (Seattle)
Senior Facilitator – Health Policy
425-750-7919
kevin.harris2@wsu.edu

Haley Hughes (Seattle)
Communication Coordinator
206-219-2400
haley.hughes@wsu.edu

Amanda Murphy Square HeadshotAmanda Murphy, MMA (Seattle)
Project & Research Lead
206-219-2409
amanda.g.murphy@wsu.edu
Chris Page, MPA (Seattle)Chris Page Square Headshot
Project and Development Lead
206-770-6060
c.page@wsu.edu
Zellah Russeff HeadshotZellah Russeff (Seattle)
Clerical Assistant
zellah.russeff@wsu.edu
Alexa Schreier (Seattle)
Research Intern
206-219-2423
alexa.schreier@wsu.ed
Molly S Square HeadshotMolly Stenovec, MS (Seattle)
Project Coordinator
206-219-2411
molly.stenovec@wsu.edu

Affiliated Faculty and Practitioners

No headshotJim Kramer (Seattle)
Contractor
(206) 841-2145
jim@jkramer.co
Phyllis photo 1Phyllis Shulman (Seattle)
Special Projects
(206) 446-8788
phyllis.shulman@wsu.edu
Joe Tovar HeadshotJoe Tovar FAICP, MUP (Seattle)
Project Lead
(425) 263-2792
jtovar@uw.edu
Kara Whitman, Ph.D. (Pullman)
Project Coordinator
509-335-7846
kmwhitman@wsu.edu

University Liaisons

Michael Gaffney, WSU Liaison
Director, WSU Extension Community & Economic Development Program
509-335-4611
mjgaffney@wsu.edu
Stephanie Harrington HeadshotStephanie Harrington, UW Liaison
Assistant Dean,
UW College of the Environment
206-543-0878
stephah@u.washington.edu 
Alan Kirtley HeadshotAlan Kirtley, JD, UW Liaison
Associate Professor
UW School of Law
206-543-3434
kirtley@uw.edu
Craig Thomas HeadshotCraig Thomas, Ph.D., UW Liaison
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, UW Evans School
of Public Policy and Governance
206-221-3669
thomasc@u.washington.edu

Endowment Campaign Co-Chairs

Bob Drewel HeadshotBob Drewel
Endowment Campaign Co-Chair
Dave McShea
Endowment Campaign Co-Chair

Updated on March 21, 2018